OMG Shoes!

Okay, so I’ve decided on an answer my own question: it’s not shallow if you feel it deeply.

I have recently visited SL’s First Annual Shoe Expo (going on through July 27 at the four Rezzable sims: Create, Design, Discover, and Explore). Twice in two days, actually. (No pics just yet, because the place is always crowded and the snapshot feature wants to crash my client.)

So here’s the thing: being at the Expo feels (and I mean in an emotional way) for me a lot like being in an Apple store. Or one of those exotic, import-only auto dealerships. I knew (and those who know me have seen it) that SL has awakened my inner fashion force, but the shoe expo experience was something else altogether.

I’m normally pretty tight-fisted in SL, as I don’t want to turn my time-eating habit into a money-eating habit. Plus you really can dress extremely well on a micro-budget, although it helps if you develop some basic building skills. But on my second visit to the Expo, while waiting for about 2 minutes for some friends to meet me, I saw, coveted, and acquired a L$500 pair of boots.

It was a visceral thing. I just had to have them.

They matched the outfit I was wearing at the moment rather perfectly, enhancing the overall effect I was going for (I will be taking pics of them when I have a moment), so that helped. But I found myself, heart pounding, making an impulse buy that was totally uncharacteristic.

Walking around with my friends / shopping buddies, I later spent another few hundred L$ on further footwear. I had just that morning been reading in the Mermaid Diaries a tutorial on making your own shoes, and was (and am) pretty excited about trying that out. But I couldn’t resist some of these shoes. Hell, I didn’t want to.

If you’ve seen The Devil Wears Prada (and if you haven’t, you should), you know the scene in which Miranda (Meryl Streep’s character) berates the new assistant for snickering at an agonizing belt choice and talks about the true place of fashion in the real world. That scene gave me a new respect for fashion. And I took it to heart in SL, as witnessed by my overburdened inventory that is mostly wardrobe. But I now really understand the passion, as it were, for fashion. It’s real love.

And thus I have no guilt over my purchases. But if you suffer from that irrational ailment, your conscience can be assuaged by knowing that significant portions of the Expo’s sales are going to the ASPCA. Unless you’re like me, as I eat enough meat that the ASPCA might not even take my money. But as I said, I have no guilt.

And did I mention that the Expo covers four sims? I haven’t yet been completely through even one of them. I’ll be going back real soon.


Song of the Moment: "Belle," Paige O'Hara and Cast (from Disney's Beauty and the Beast)
END OF LINE
One Response to “OMG Shoes!”

  1. ROCK. STAR.

Leave a Reply

